sillwood site header logo

Amatore's Restaurant reviews

on amazon and goodreads

see James Sillwood's

reviews on Goodreads

read James Sillwood's

reviews on Amazon

goodreads_icon Amatore's Restaurant complete medium amazon_logo amazon_co_uk-logo Amatore part 1 medium Amatore part 2 medium Amatore part 3 medium

Amatore's Restaurant

also available

in three volumes

Book One

Book Two

Book Three

amazon_logo amazon_logo amazon_logo

Lou Kennedy's review

*****

Nov 11, 2016

Read from November 07 to 11, 2016

This is a very well written story and the characters were just amazing and the details were amazingly described. The story just sucks you in.

Each story has its own magic and they all managed to entertain me until the very end. The erotic scenes are very sensual and exciting to read. It was the first time I read in this genre and the book made me wonder why I have never tried it before. Sillwood managed to keep my on edge through its wit, sexiness, and humor. As a woman, I was pleasantly surprised of how well the women are portrayed by a male writer. I loved it!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1809197768?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Anne Holster's review 

****

Oct 29, 2016

Read from October 17 to 29, 2016

Amatore’s Restaurant gives a sultry peek into the lives of a large group of individuals connected through a small theater group. The group meets for dinner at Amatore’s and that is where the ‘party’ starts. Through flashbacks we journey through snippets of each of the character’s lives, many of whom are interconnected in some way or another. The snippets are all sexual in nature and are extremely imaginative – making me feel almost like a peeping tom at times! 

My favorite piece was the chapter titled ‘Bodywork’. As I read the chapter which revolved around ‘Jane’ and a ‘mechanic’ that she encounters I found myself wanting to find out more about these characters. Actually there were several chapters that made me feel that way. So many times I found myself saying ‘wow, this chapter could’ve been made into its own book/short story and I think that says a lot for this author. Mr. Sillwood clearly has a lot of talent as well as a very vivid imagination! Well done!

*ARC kindly provided by the author for an honest review.*

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1797785190?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Tassa Desalada's review 

*****

Oct 25, 2016

bookshelves:lots-of-sex, loved-it, sexy-fiction

Read from October 24 to 25, 2016

I love to read sex books. This book is a smorgasbord of sex stories. That makes it even more interesting. The writing is terrific, and fully explores and encompasses a very difficult story while providing loads of detail.

The premise for this book is so simple that I'm surprised I didn't come up with it. It's a party of people eating dinner at a restaurant. Each of them discusses their previous sexual liaisons. Each story has my full attention, whether or not it's my preferred genre. That's because it's simply delicious to be a fly on that wall!!!

The author tackles Erotica, but Erotica has so many unique subgenres that it is really difficult for an author to fully explore and relate each subgenre in an interesting fashion. I'm really amazed at the author's ability to diversify in such a way. The reader gets a solid dose of many different kinds of sex. I love all of the sex. I love this book!!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1792821652?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Melissa Copeland's review

*****

Nov 04, 2016

bookshelves: romance-challenge

Read from October 11 to 12, 2016

Writer was generously provided with ARC in exchange for my honest review:

This book is comprised of a series of short stories, all of them intertwined on the larger scale. A formal dinner party at Signore Mario Amatore’s restaurant inspires its participants to recall various erotic interludes preceding the event (and allowing us, the readers, to see how everyone is connected in some way). And Holy. Hell.

These were not your run-of-the-mill erotic stories. Sillman writes beautifully, the attention to detail is magnificent, and the way everything is woven together is quite an impressive feat. Not only that, the narratives are so intimate and personal that at times, it felt straight up voyeuristic to be reading this. Additionally, some of the stories are so dark and intense they really do require a bit of a break, as another reviewer pointed out.

This was a really different read for me when it comes to the erotica genre. The way each story manages to combine eloquent prose and impressively naughty language makes the entire book feel like a peephole, with us, the reader, as the Peeping Tom. Sinfully delicious read!

5 stars!!!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1780709944?book_show_action=true&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

****

Sacha Valero's review

Apr 15, 16

Read from March 31 to April 15, 2016

This book was put together in a very unexpected way. It essentially combines several shorts with each chapter being a different story about a different character. That said, it was cleverly written and written well.

The erotica is good, but it's written in a way to help the reader visualize without being overly graphic. If you want your erotica to be explicit, this might not be for you.

Another quality of the book is that there are so many different characters and we get to know them each in a way that fits the format. None of these characters compel me to want to care about them, but that's what you get from a vignette. I did however, find myself wondering who was into what and there were some surprises.

All told, a quality book with well written erotica that's not overly graphic. It's a bit of a long read though, so set aside some time.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1596690111?book_show_action=false

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

H. Rose's review

****

Apr 08, 16

Read from April 06 to 08, 2016

** spoiler alert ** Unique literary erotica with multiple explicit sexual liaisons to tantalize or excite your senses and desires. A provocative palette of sex, secrets and assignations are to be found within the pages of this unique work of literary erotica. Do not be mislead by the languorous opening to the incredibly sexy Amatore's Restaurant by James Sillwood. A sexy book, mostly set in London, you will rapidly fall into this book and live vicariously through the funny, spontaneous, and sexy intertwined lives of Cordelia, Chiara, Lucia, Mario, young dancer Emily, bad-boy temporary waiter Pierre, a mysterious old man feigning blindness and his young female consort, and many, many more. SPOILER ALERT: In one flashback we learn that up-and-coming actress Cordelia, tired of her nonexistent love life, determines to take love matters into her own hands… and quickly manages to turn a boring corporate hookup into a deliciously naughty sexual role playing, a game of be dominated and “promise to be good” and you will be rewarded. The end of that scene is very much a turnabouts fair play AKA reversal of the sexes. Beautifully descriptive passages, including multiple flashbacks for multiple male and female characters, details of locations, character clothes, and more, add to the author’s unique prose style. NOTE: In this graphic story, there are multiple explicit sexual liaisons and drifting sexual explorations or relationships that are lesbian, heterosexual, and likely non-binary. If you like ensemble character literary erotica you will love this book.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1601586868

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

****

Tierra's review 

Apr 06, 16

Amatore's Restaurant is in short one hot book. The stories weave together perfectly and keep the readers emotions on edge. There were times where I was almost crying and other times I had to take a break from the erotic nature. I've read many erotic books, and James is one author that managed to sell sex without selling porn. I appreciate that aspect the most.

I also enjoyed getting to know each character personally without feeling overwhelmed by the cast. Many of the books I've read by males authors do not do a great job at portraying women well. James stands out because he was able to get inside the heads of the women character so well. I became less concerned about who the author was and more about what was going to happen next.

I'm glad I got the chance to read this book and will be looking forward to others by James.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1602788219?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

****

Renee's review

Feb 12, 16

I received a copy of this novel in return for an honest review

First off let me say this, Amatore's Restaurant has some truly beautiful language. The descriptions are very well written. I am giving this novel 4 stars because the story lines, characters and back ground were brilliant. However it did take some time to get used to the writing style. The story is in third person, but the characters thoughts are all first person and well.... here's an example:

The traffic was clear until she reached the Watford by-pass.

When she agreed to watch their place, Jake and Ashley definitely

said they would be back in time for the dinner on Wednesday. Why

does this always happen? Why, whenever I do someone a favour, do

they always take advantage? If it wasn't for Duke and Fizz, I'd refuse.

Of course, Jake knows I wouldn't neglect the dogs. What a hassle!

I also wasn't a fan of the cover art.

So those were my only complaints, after I got over the unusual writing style choice the storylines sucked me in and didn't let go.

This is a very erotic novel, so if you don't like erotica you need to skip this, because there is sex and it is hot. 

The story starts with a powerful female who knows what she wants and goes out and gets it. The second chapter has two women lovers, an unfaithful husband and a bit that includes a school girl uniform. Each chapter is is the different recollections of past sexual encounters by members of the Recreative Theatre Company as they celebrate at Ristorante Amatore. This is not an erotica about some subservient female doing whatever a man wants. Quite the reverse. There are many sexual encounters with many characters.

The author writes about these characters and the places they live and visit as if these are real people and real places. This is a very sensual novel, read it with someone that already makes you think naughty thoughts to make the experience extra spicy.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1546497584?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

*****

Damian Maher's review 

Feb 04, 16

An extraordinary erotic read based on authentic characters

What a book! The Recreative Theatre Company actors and others meet for the closing dinner at Ristorante di Amatore. In each of the 23 short stories we are introduced to one of the guests, as they remember when they first met one of the other visitors. Each story is unique in the sense of the character, the setting, and the type of sexual desires. The characters are all tied together in one way or another, but this very special dinner will also influence some of their future choices of a sexual nature…

Although there is a lot of explicit sex I don’t see this novel as porn. I see it as extremely well written erotica; each intriguing character has its own story and so you can understand the underlying motivation for every sexual fantasy. Some stories are just very hot, some have a dark vibe, some are tender... With the exception of M/M sex, practically all other manifestations of human sexuality are described.

The characters are richly developed and you feel as if you were in the situation with them. You start to understand that so called “dirty secrets” they share are not really dirty, but barely alternations of our natural and normal human experience (there are some dark exceptions in the book, though).

This novel is constantly surprising; it activates not only your body, but also your brain. It is extremely well written and you virtually feel the hands of a skilled writer. Sillwood’s unique exploration of human sexuality makes you want more! I’m looking forward to reading other books by this author. Which one will be next?

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1537067896?book_show_action=false

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

****

Andrew Longworth's review

Jan 25, 16

Read from January 08 to 22, 2016

The book ‘Amatore’s Restaurant’ deals with an actors' troupe meeting for a year-end event at an upscale restaurant in London. Gradually, throughout the book, we learn who these people are, and how their lives are intertwined. We quickly find out that the acting doesn’t stop for the characters, only that the stage has shifted from the theater to the hardwood floor at Amatore’s. 

It is a unique book in that we are treated to exotic places all over the world: Marseilles, Berlin, Rome, London, Amsterdam...all with a Hollywood flair: actors, artists, models, with sexual relations being the central theme in each chapter. Combined with a fluent style of writing, the story makes for a good read, although the editing leaves a little to be desired at some points. The characters, although many, make up for that. This is a 21st century Vanity Fair, and we are treated to the joys and miseries of the lot. 

Without revealing too much here, there are some very clever twists, like Hermana and who (s)he really was, and Colin’s home movies. That’s literally the spice in ‘Amatore’s Restaurant’. Three or four chapters in, it becomes a little predictable in that we know there is going to be a steamy sex scene awaiting. 

To me personally, it was not so much the sex scenes that caught my attention, but the writing itself. Distant places are described very well, and the narrative is compelling. Sometimes it is a memory that tells the story, more is revealed in various conversations at dinner. 

I think it’s a solid four stars. The only fault here is the inconsistent editing and sudden changes in perspective that threw me off.

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Ann Girdharry's review

Dec 18, 15

****

A vast array of characters meet together for dinner at a restaurant. The links between the guests appear tentative, loosely formed around a theatre production company and their various roles with this company. 

Then, as the story progresses we see there are some who have met in the past, some who have been involved in the pastor had affairs in the past, and others who are destined to be involved in the future and leave the restaurant together, forsaking their previous partners. 

The majority of the book is a retelling of each person's tale and each of these tales contain erotic memories - more or less steamy, more or less compelling, and exhibiting a vast variety of settings and sexual tendencies. 

The erotic elements were well written and convincing.

The rest of the book, where the reader pieces together the links between the characters, reminded me a little of the style of an Agatha Christie - where the clarity is only revealed at the end. 

I think this book is a difficult act to pull off because the author is blending elements of romance, erotica and a more literary style. I like all of those elements - so it worked for me. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest, non-reciprocal review.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1472434694?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

*****

Ravenna Young's review 

Nov 21, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read from November 09 to 21, 2015

I love the format of this novel. What a great idea, combining several short vignettes to creative a cohesive story...definitely a different read for me. What I loved the most was the character development. In a short span, Sillwood gives plenty of personality to each character, creating and intriguing cast of sexy diverse individuals who spin erotic tales from pretty much every avenue one would expect from an erotic read.

Each short was every bit as naughty and sassy as the next and there was absolutely no shortages of surprise and intrigue. I had many jaw-dropping moments and a few moments where I had to put the book down to process what I just read. I love a good erotic read that makes me feel a bit dirty while reading it...this book did exactly that and then some. Definitely a unique read in the erotic genre and one worth every flip of the page.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1437887441?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

***

Emma Jaye's review 

Nov 21, 15

3 of 5 stars

Read from November 17 to 21, 2015

Literary erotica?

This is an odd mix, I admired the author for the attempt, but I'm not sure this book would appeal to fans of either erotica or literary fiction.

The style is 100% literary, a dinner at a restaurant weaves the lives of guests and staff through past encounters of a sexual nature. Each chapter focuses on a different character and a specific period of usually a few days in their past involving sexual encounters, most are M/F, some are F/F and many are someone sordid, temporary, or otherwise lacking in affection although this is by no means universal. I did get lost as to how the various characters were related after 20+ different stories had been told, and frankly I did stop caring.

I'm more of a fan of erotica, I love significant steam in my reading matter, but this didn't hit that button for me at all. Its very unusual for me to want to bypass sex scenes, but I did in this book,probably because I didn't feel connected to any of the characters. Yes, sex was described, a lot, but no tingles I'm afraid, and I found myself looking at the page count to go on several occasions, its a very long book, over 300 pages, which sets it outside the normal erotic range by a huge amount, but not the literary genre.

For the right reader, this is a well written look at human interaction and connections through sex, cleverly put together and of literary merit.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1445060408?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

****

Anthony Stancomb's review 

Nov 20, 15

4 of 5 stars

This is perhaps the most erotic book I’ve ever read (which probably says something about my unsuitability as a proper reviewer), but I found that the book worked on several levels.

It’s a subject that isn’t easy to write about without repeating oneself or without striking a wrong note by becoming too grabby, and the author managed to keep above this. The author also managed with considerable dexterity to keep the narrative entertaining and keep the reader wanting to know how things unfolded. At times, I found myself trying hard to remember how the various characters related to each other, but by the end, everything was in place. I must say, I was slightly disappointed that there wasn’t a grand debacle at the end, but perhaps that’s not the norm in erotica.

The characters were finely drawn, and although I felt that I hadn’t got to understand the working of some of them, most of them I could identify with – quite an achievement, considering the amount of characters.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1447667103?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

**

Veronica Purcell's review

Oct 04, 15

2 of 5 stars

Read in October, 2015

James's stories promises promiscuous mischief set in a place of savory elegance. Only a few have the honor of being invited to Amatore's Restaurant.

The few are colorful characters harboring unsolicited desires, demons of lust in expensive suits or the average people aiming to sate their affections with a significant other. The tapestry of stories was rich. The description of the environment was surreal.

Alas, there were a few technical aspects that hindered the story for me. The haphazard paragraph arrangement caused a disruption to the story flow in some places. There were a few typos, which impacted the narrative in some of the stories. Audition, unfortunately, suffered these issues the most. Interrupting an otherwise cheeky read.

Push the typos and technical issues aside. Amatore's Restaurant does live up to its premise of erotic adventures.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1407998605?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Nikole Bloom's review

Sep 11, 15

4 of 5 stars

Read from September 09 to 11, 2015

Amatore’s Restaurant is a collection of short stories that are tied to one another. The stories are centered on the group of characters from the Recreative Theatre Company. The company is meets at Ristorante Amatore for a season’s end dinner. Each guest recalls a time in their life and as we go we see how each is ties into the larger cast of characters. The stories are erotically charged and Mr. Sillword is a gifted writer. The descriptive language and nuances will make you feel like you are in the room with the characters. Each story is unique from the characters to the type of experience and the underlying desires. I enjoyed some stories more than others and had to take a step back a few times to ensure I was tying each character in to the larger theme. The erotically charged theme of the book is suitable for adults only but also certainly ensures you will feel something (or more) along the way. I would have liked to see a big finish for the characters, something that finished off their stories, instead the book just ends. Either way this book is a well woven masterpiece and a must for any erotica fan.

**I was given a copy of this book for a non-reciprocal review**

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1387384409

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Ms. Please Pass The Books's review 

Sep 02, 15

5 of 5 stars

Amatore's Restaurant is an intriguing collection of erotic vignettes, centered around a closing dinner at Ristorante di Amatore for London's Recreative Theatre Company. In a divergent and distinctive contrast from what we've come to expect in the erotic genre, Sillwood has written a compilation of sketches that simply peeks into the humanity of each character. There is a lot of sex, and it is exceptionally well written, but Sillwood's characters are well fleshed out and layered enough to make them feel authentic. The style of the book as a whole is reminiscent of Steinbeck's The Wayward Bus (although the content certainly is not) in the sense that, while reaching into a moment of time with each character, it does not come together in the end as one might expect, pushing Amatore's Restaurant into as much the genre of literary fiction as it is erotic. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an extraordinary erotic read with real (and most often abject) emotion, in a classical literary format.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1380863380?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Pam's review

Aug 09, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in August, 2015

Amatore’s Restaurant is by James Sillwood. It is erotica and is meant for adults only. It is a different book and I liked the concept but without the erotica. In time, it is only one evening; but in actuality a longer time.

In London, the Recreative Theatre Company had just finished its season of Night of the Portenos and the company had set up a dinner for the actors and others at the Ristorante Di Amatore. As the waiters and waitresses and others set up for the dinner and get their assignments, the chef is ready to begin cooking. The chef is Monsieur Antoine Petel from a restaurant in Paris who has come to help with the French dishes that night. He is evidently a renowned chef who Mario Amatore, the proprietor of the restaurant thought was definitely worth the money to get. Two of the waitresses are having a discussion in the cool room. When they finish, they attempt to get out the door; but the handle is broken. Finally, they manage to get the door open and get out. The handle is placed on a sack of asparagus and is later put under the asparagus. The “why” taunts and teases you throughout the book.

As the guests arrive, they are given champagne and encouraged to talk to each other. They divide into small groups which eventually change; but the first grouping is of people who seem to have feelings for each other but it may be deceiving. As we are introduced to each of them, they go back in time and remember when they first met one of the other visitors. Each then proceeds to remember a sexual seduction and scene concerning themselves and another person at the party. James Sillwood gets very creative in describing these activities to the point where you can visualize what is going on.

Although I did enjoy his techniques of writing and could easily see what he was doing in giving various seduction vignettes, I could have done without the explicit sexual activities. I ended up skimming the last part of the book because of the sexual content.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1359601519

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Ian Welch's review

Aug 02, 15

4 of 5 stars

This is my review for James Stillwood's 'Amatores Restaurant'. I was given a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Amatores Restaurant comprises of 23 chapters, each a short story with different characters. Each chapter outlines a different sexual encounter by a diverse range of characters in a multitude of different settings. James' descriptive work on characters and locations is first rate; he has very obvious literary skills. This book should come with a warning; it contains explicit and very detailed sexual content. In fact the sexual content is the main underlying theme of every short story.

Move over 'Fifty Shades of Grey.' Amatores Restaurant leaves nothing to the imagination. Sex sells so I am sure this book will appeal to a similar reader. It is guaranteed to raise your blood pressure.

Personally I started to tire of the continuous repetitive sexual theme after a number of chapters and would have loved some more substance, the introduction of a plot or story that moved on from the sex theme. But that is me, others may well disagree.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1352851355

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Leticia Lightly's review

Jul 09, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read from June 30 to July 09, 2015

Amatore’s Restaurant was a beautiful compilation of sexual liaisons. This is not simply an erotic thriller; it’s a tale that weaves relationships between characters and develops complex backgrounds (Pierre was particularly fun). It is clear the author put a lot of thought and time into bringing his characters to life, and not a plot hole to be found. I simply loved his style of writing – it was detailed, descriptive, and professionally well done. How pleased I was to come across a writer who understands the English language!

The book is a full-length novel and pays well deserved attention to the story; nothing feels rushed or forced. I enjoyed that this story took some thought on the reader’s part. Everything wasn’t just laid out and outlined for them. The dinner theatre group was such a unique idea, and I feel as though few ideas are left unexplored or untouched in this narrative. A great read, and I’m looking forward to seeing more!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1322105600?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Stefany Rattles's review

Jul 08, 15

4 of 5 stars

James Sillwood created a great story that was well written and told. The characters all captured my attention and kept me hooked in the story that it was easy losing track of time. It was steamy, sexy and very erotic in a way that was still tasteful. I really liked seeing the different roles and it was interesting getting the POV of a dominant woman instead of it being a man which you don't typically come across much. Along with the sex scenes you get the story of each character that pulls you in to their fantasies and secrets. I would recommend this book and if I could, I would rate it a 4.7!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1329507050

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Debbie Hughes's review

Jul 06, 15

4 of 5 stars

Read in July, 2015

I was given this book to read for an honest review…..Before you pick this book up read what it’s about otherwise you will be lost. “The international cast meet for the end of season dinner” You have to have that in your mind set. Otherwise you will get confused.

Each chapter looks at one of the “members” and then you get their story, their extremely sexy, hot story. As you put together each background and connection to the other characters you have a very erotic story. I had to take my time with this book to cool off between chapters.

If you love erotic stories there is something here for everyone! Take your time and savor the heat!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1327268972?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Andrea's review

Jul 05, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read from May 04 to July 04, 2015

Amatore's Restaurant is a delicious, provocative and intriguing glimpse into the lives of several sets of characters who are brought together for a joint purpose and secretly or indirectly connected by their emotional pasts and alluring escapades. This book delves into a series of vignettes introducing the reader to the intimate inner worlds of these characters. The scenes are explicit in nature, but this is necessary to understand the motives, desires and human needs of these characters -- male and female. I was impressed with Mr. Sill wood's ability to get inside the heads of both genders, and do each of them justice. I also enjoyed being privy to the inner webs of these characters; this dance. I highly recommend this book -- not merely for titillation, but for the closer examination of the complexities of physical and emotional human relationships; the gray areas. I love how he brought together such deeply veiled people with only a small degree of separation between them. A lovely, enthralling, arousing and jarring read.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1267252130?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

T.K. Lukas's review

Jun 05, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in June, 2015

Amatore's Restaurant is populated with a complex cast of characters, and each chapter is its own short story, with every short story revealing a highly charged, sometimes kinky, and always imaginative erotic setting. Via the author's skillful prose, we learn that the characters are all tied together, some through their involvement with the theater troupe, some through familial ties, some through past sexual liaisons. And speaking of the sexual liaisons, there's enough variety in this book to please every palate. You won't go home hungry from Amatore's Restaurant!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1299773138?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=2

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

S.J. Higgins's review

May 17, 15

4 of 5 stars

Recommended for: Anyone who would like an extremely erotic story.

If you are looking for an extremely erotic read then this is the book for you. This story was a collective book of short erotic stories, some dark and other's wildly entertaining. I guarantee there isn't a fantasy that hasn't been touched on in this well written and original tale.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1282461393?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Limor Moyal's review 

May 16, 15

5 of 5 stars

That was hands-down the most erotic book I have ever read.

And I read a lot.

James Sillwood created a beautiful mosaic of short stories weave together beautifully.

Each story carries his own color, flavor and feel. Some are dark and has a sort of film-noir kind of vibe, some are steamy hot, and some are so fragile and gentle that it brings tears to your eyes. But all of them with no exception are extremely erotic, and very well written.

It's very tricky to write sex without making it smutty, you need to stimulate the heart and brain of the reader before aiming to the lower parts of his body, having said that many books that I've read misses that and turning out to be written porn. 

It's even harder to do when you're writing a short story, because than you are limited and have to connect with the reader in not so many words. That is exactly what I felt in this book, it just works magic on you.

James is managing to bring you from zero to hundred in a very short time and he never misses. Every reader can find some of his darkest fantasies forming to a story in that book, without any shame or apologies .My personal favorites were the garage scene and the Amazon lady.

This book is a piece of art and a must read.

Be advised though, that you won't be able to finish it in one go… that book requires pauses to get yourself together .

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1281563975?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Bec's review 

May 15, 15

3 of 5 stars

bookshelves: 2015-reading-challenge 

Read from May 08 to 14, 2015

I found Amatore's Restaurant to be a very cleverly written in the way it was like a series of short stories but all characters were connected somehow. I enjoyed reading everyone's stories and the sex scenes were very erotic. It did take a bit of concentrating to try and tie all the characters together but I enjoyed it when I worked out how they were all linked. They all had a variety of very different sexual experience to share with us, and let's just say we go almost everything you could imagine! I was hoping for a 'WOW' moment at the end that tied everything off quite nicely but found that was missing and the ending was a bit bland. Overall a good book if you want some erotica!

I received a complimentary copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1274880693?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Brittany's review 

May 09, 15

4 of 5 stars

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*

This book was very interesting. You are able to learn of different characters at every turn. They all revolve around the restaurant though, and then you are thrust into one of their memories. There really isn't any main characters because every chapter is a new story that ties itself to the restaurant. Every chapter also had its own steamy scene to contend with. Everyone also just so happens to have their own dirty little secret.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1275981544?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Allan Lewis's review 

May 04, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read from April 30 to May 04, 2015

I believe the author has just about covered the seven deadly sins in this skilfully entwined story, full of entertaining characters that reveals their darkest secrets and sexual encounters through memories and the affairs of the guests and the staff of the restaurant. Where one woman admits killing her husband while having sex, by sitting on his face and smothering him with love.

There are so many erotic characters that are masterfully put together it keeps you wondering what could they possibly get up to in the next chapter.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1268041570?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Liz's review 

May 03, 15

3 of 5 stars

Read from May 02 to 03, 2015

** spoiler alert ** 3,5 Stars

I received this book directly from James in return for a review. Before I contacted James I noticed that Amatore’s Restaurant had a number of high-score reviews and I was intrigued.

It is true- there are a lot of explicit scenes described in quite a detail for each of the characters and there are many characters! Each have their own story to tell.

I must say, as I came towards the end of the book I was expecting something explosive to happen because a lot of the characters were in one way or another somewhat involved. For example I wanted to see a conclusion to Freya’s story who had an imaginary “friend” Ophelia… I was wondering if Freya indeed was an absolute psycho who had killed people and if her lesbian partner Ana was in danger?

Another of the characters who peaked my interest was Pierre, a waiter at the restaurant. He just didn’t give a flying and had somewhat of a shady life.

In this book you won’t find the fairy tale endings, the unconditional love. What you will find is a lot of simple humans, acting by their whims, jealousies, revenge… Quite realistic, in this sense. So, while there is a lot of erotic moments, I believe James has done quite a job creating such a myriad of different characters with their own absolutely insanely mind blowing stories and then have them all come together in that restaurant…

To be honest, to this moment, I am not entirely sure what it is I make of the whole book… I seem to be trying to find a deeper meaning to all this and all I can come up with is- yes, we are all petty humans driven by one act, and one act only…

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1269791342?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Michael Langley's review

Apr 25, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in April, 2015

As I said in my reviews of the three books, the erotic scenes in this are mind blowing! Nothing is left to the imagination. There's voyeurism, threesomes, group sex, lesbians, straight sex and bondage. A little bit of everything!Lots of good stories, the ones that stand out for me include Blind Mans Bluff, featuring my favourite character, Pierre,Bodywork featuring Jane and her mechanic, with a clever twist at the end, and La Belle Charente in which the evil aunt Nicole takes advantage of the innocent Dale.I enjoyed all of the stories and found it easy to picture the characters.

Some of the stories have a darker side. Masquerade, for instance, where Colette is driven to desperate lengths, and Postscript where foul play is hinted at. One of the most interesting characters is Freya. She appears to be completely mad but also very sly and scheming.Just like Nicole, she's totally unpredictable.

A great read!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1263860718?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Tilly Andrews's review 

Nov 08, 14

5 of 5 stars

Very original. The Amatore's Restaurant in is Kensington, our ‘cast’ is a group of people involved in the theatre, and we join them all for dinner. through each character we explore their relationships and encounters with each other through recollections of past encounters – there is also a murder! 

James Sillwood touches on some deep and sexual subjects, betrayal, lust and love which he guide us through, via letters, recollections, confessions, discussion and actions.

This is a good read and I would recommend it.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1099755482?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Bianca Kent's review 

Sep 30, 14

5 of 5 stars

Read in September, 2014

Don't be fooled into thinking this is just an erotic book. It is so much more, involving complex, well developed and totally believable characters in a variety of different situations and settings. 

The idea of having all the actors from the theatre company meeting up for the dinner at Amatore's restaurant is such a clever one as the characters are brought together and have the opportunity to interact with each other. The staff at the restaurant are also involved in the story, sometimes interacting with the guests.

This is a very original book containing lots of different themes, even a murder is hinted at. There is plenty going on in these stories, lots of secrets and unresolved mysteries.

Very well written, containing plenty of humour which I like in a novel, but also containing plenty of intrigue. This book is full of surprises and will keep you guessing until the end. People are shown behaving badly, using trickery and deception and taking advantage,betraying those closest to them. At the same time there is kindness, generosity and love. This is essentially a novel about human behaviour and relationships.

This deserves to be widely read and I cannot recommend this highly enough. If you're looking for an original and fascinating read, this is for you.

I'm still thinking about the characters and their lives.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1068423880?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Caroline Jayson's review 

Aug 15, 14

4 of 5 stars

Read in July, 2014

Love the cover on this book!The sex scenes are explicit and well done and the characters are interesting and well developed. My favourite story is called La Belle Charente and is about Dale who goes to stay with his Aunt and Uncle in France. He soon realises his Aunt is mad, I think she is a psychopath.I liked the story Masquerade and I didn't expect the ending at all.I also liked Video Games which is about Colin who decides to watch a porn film but ends up watching his wife with two men.Lots of different stories involving people from widely differing backgrounds and made up of several nationalities.I found this to be an interesting and intriguing book.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1027568520?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

Sophie Melbourne's review 

Jul 29, 14

4 of 5 stars

I didn't know what to expect when I started reading this book and I was pleasantly surprised. The book is like a collection of short stories and the characters meet at a restaurant for an end of season dinner. Each remembers a sexual experience that has happened to them in the past. This book contains explicit sex scenes, however there is far more than erotic fiction. The characters are interesting and well-developed and the stories are fascinating such as Nicole in La Belle Charente and Freya in The Waitress' Bus-Stop.

I finished this book wanting to know more.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1010076462?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Amatore's Restaurant: complete

John Gruchy's review 

Jul 26, 14

5 of 5 stars

Read in July, 2014

I can't recommend this book highly enough! From page one I was gripped. If you like lots of interesting characters and enjoy working out what makes people tick, this book is for you.

Each chapter tells of a different character and their story. There is lots of erotic content covering different types of sexual activity, but don't read it for just that alone. There is lots of detail about the characters and they are very interesting. This is the most erotic book I have read, there is lesbian sex, threesomes and straight sex and S&M but there's a lot more than sex, some of the stories are in different countries and lots of the characters come from different places. This book is about the people who are acting in a play together and they meet up for dinner at Amatore's restaurant. The staff at the restaurant come into the story too and some are involved with the actors at the dinner. My favourite story is the one about the twins who come to stay with Richard and Colette. I like this subject anyway, because there are twins in my family. I also like The Garden Centre, Lucy is funny and this story made me laugh. She certainly gets what she wants with Joran, the sexy Swedish gardener. There is lots of humour in this book, I think Pierre the waiter is funny too, he hangs around the restaurant, hates his job and the guests. Pierre has his own story called Blind Man's Bluff and I like this story because he's conned when he thinks he's doing the tricking! I have just finished reading this book and am still thinking about the people and what happens to them. I hope there is going to be a follow up!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1007433353?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Connie Lafortune's review

****

Aug 30, 2016

Read from August 09 to 30, 2016

Secret Deceptions is a collection of short erotic stories. Which are intricately woven between several POV'S and has that six degrees of separation feel to it. Due to everyone's connection to Amatore's Restaurant.

In the beginning, I did find it difficult to keep track of all the characters. Especially, since it bounced back between past and present. But once I sorted it all out, it was very enjoyable. 

Voyeurism, straight sex, lesbianism and BDSM are all touched upon in this steamy and erotic read. A sexual 'fantasy' for each and every one of us to enjoy. 

Mr Sillwood did a wonderful job of creating diverse characters who oozed sex appeal, which kept this reader turning the pages...

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1723573613?book_show_action=false

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

*****

Hannah Howe's review 

Aug 17, 2016

Clearly a labour of love for the author, Secret Deceptions is a collection of sensual stories beautifully written. The 

idea of switching viewpoints and locations was an inspired one because it kept the narrative fresh and interesting. Indeed, the various European cites that feature and the author's feel for those cities is a highlight of the book.

The erotic scenes in the book were well written and offered an insight into each character. For this reader the combination of eroticism tied to character sets this book apart from many in the genre and adds quality to the book.

Secret Deceptions is an entertaining, thought provoking, sensual read from an author who has a deep empathy with his subject matter and that empathy is well conveyed to the reader.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1731191565

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

*****

J. Saman's review

Jul 25, 2016

This book had me hooked instantly, mostly because each chapter was a different character. I loved each of the steamy stories and how they were told in the past and present tense. One of my favorite things about them is that they were all spread throughout Europe and I felt like this gave the book more depth. I really enjoyed the way that the characters all came together at the end and how well each story worked together. The sex scenes were hot and fun to read, but far from raunchy or over the top. They were simply a way to highlight each character's story. 

My favorite character was probably Cordelia because I really enjoyed the way she had to be in control. So many times in books I feel that the woman is a passive player in her own sexual and life experiences, but Cordelia took charge, which I liked.

I also really enjoyed the dynamic between Lucia and Chiara - I felt that relationship was one of the best in the book. 

Overall, really fun read!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1708549256

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

D.C. Triana's review 

****

Jul 13, 2016

Read on July 13, 2016

“Why demand that I go back there when he had no intention of doing anything with me? I wondered what it would take to get him going. What could I do to stir him up? This was turning into a challenge – and I just couldn’t resist a challenge.”

First of all, I really loved the fact that the restaurant is based in Kensington, London, since I’ve been planning a trip to England this year and that’s where I’ll be staying, but let’s not get sidetracked. I really enjoyed this steamy little story. The connections formed in Amatore’s Restaurant are filled with sensuality and are very provocative. Each character has their own story and I really liked how they were told in their own point of views. The stories were always intertwined with people from the dining hall and didn’t break connection. The characters were well written and their stories were delectably surprising. My favorite story was titled Bodywork where a strong headed actress meets a mechanic that leaves her all hot and bothered. 

This is not just an erotic book (although it has plenty of that), it is a collection of sexual liaisons that are tastefully told, and are also filled with a sense of intrigue that will keep you engaged to the very end.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1679916529

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Jessy D's review 

****

Jul 08, 2016

Secret Deceptions by James Sillwood was a great read. I liked that it wasn't about just one person or couple. It was about numerous people/couples in Europe. Each person has their own different sexual scenario. Every single one was different, which was a nice change. By the end of the book every character was tied together in some way at Amatore's Restaurant so they aren't just talking about random people on the street. This book could never be considered boring because it was constantly changing. Changing people and every story was unique. It was multiple stories that by the end had been tied up into one. I have never read a book like this and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. 

The story that comes to mind the most was Cordelia and Brad. Wow the scene was hot and she knew what she wanted. I almost felt bad for Brad. Her asking if he has ever made love to a woman before, and then asking if he can remember what to do?!? Ha she's bad ass. 

I received this ARC for my honest review.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1691854748

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Stacie Orion's review 

*****

Jul 02, 2016

Read from June 20 to July 01, 2016

Oh my, what a steamy little book Mr. Silwood has written! I normally steer clear of erotic fiction but Amatore's Restaurant is different. The story is told through a few POVs, each taking place in a different city in Europe, but they all come together at Amatore's Restaurant. I especially enjoyed the character of Cordelia, aspiring actress. Such a sly lady who wants to be in control. And having lived and travelled to many of the cities mentioned in the book (I love Berlin!), I really appreciated the author's ability to bring the settings to life, triggering in me such fond memories of those places.

Warning: this are quite a few sex scenes in the book, which I expected. They were well executed and tasteful. At no point did I feel it was trashy. In fact I think it's quite tame compared to some of the other stuff you can find here. 

Overall I have no complaints about the writing, aside from the bizarre change in POV at the beginning of the story from first to third-person. It was such a pleasure to read this book, and I could tell the author really enjoyed writing it.

I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1685846022?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Joan Carney's review

****

Jun 24, 2016

Read from June 23 to 24, 2016

Mr. Sillwood has created an artful montage of short stories. The interesting part is that the main characters in all the stories are linked by a special dinner being held at Amatore’s Restaurant. Each one tells of an erotic adventure, spurred by fantasy, and usually outside the person’s normal behavior pattern.

I did find the abrupt shifts between present times and flashbacks jarring and had to read over certain parts to keep track. I also noticed occasional head hopping that threw me off.

But vivid descriptions, as well as natural sounding dialogue brought the settings and characters to life. The sex scenes were well choreographed without being either over the top or leaving more than was necessary to the imagination.

Overall a good read.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1678464255?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Page Larue's review (Carly Berg)

****

Jun 10, 2016

This is part one of three. As an aside, I love how the cover images of the three books fit together to be one beautiful woman

There's to be a formal dinner at Amatore's restaurant. The story moves fast and goes back and forth between past and present. We're given backstory about several characters, a sexual encounter they had in the past with someone connected to the dinner, whether a customer or restaurant staff. 

I found a couple of little glitches like verbs used in present tense when they should have been in past tense, and point of view shifts were sometimes a tad confusing.

However, overall the story was intriguing, with a surprise twist or two included. I especially liked the glimpses of various European locations.

I received a free digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1665247931

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

****

Maggie Way's review

May 02, 16

Read in April, 2016

I got a free copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

From the get go, I could tell this was an erotic story that meant business.

‘In the dining hall at Ristorante di Amatore’, immediately it had me hooked and wanting to go to Kensington London!

The first chapter somehow goes from third person to first, I don’t think I have ever come across that before but I don’t mind it as the story flowed.

Whilst I do not usually read anthology collections I was intrigued by this premise of sexy stories in different settings. I love how the women in these stories tend take the lead, they are strong-willed, tough and in control of their sexuality. The erotic scenes are well written, hot and steamy!

Thanks for the copy James, I found this be a very thorough and enjoyable read.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1627354810?book_show_action=false

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

John Markham's review

Apr 25, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in March, 2015

A few weeks ago I was talking to someone about the lack of good, contemporary erotic fiction and they recommended this book. From the first page I was gripped. It's the characters who make this book. They're complicated and intriguing, often selfish and not always likeable. The book is really a set of short stories and reminds me a little bit of the writings of Anais Nin,although I would say there is more focus here on the characters. The story with Freya and Ana is very intriguing; Freya is obviously mentally ill and seems to have mysteries in her past. I liked the story with Pierre, a con man, who gets him comeuppance. 

Read and enjoy!

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1263729557?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Michael Langley's review

Apr 25, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in April, 2015

Wow! The erotic scenes in this are mind blowing and very detailed. There's voyeurism, lesbian sex, straight sex and more voyeurism. I liked Pierre, who is a villain but gets tricked in the story "Blind Man's Bluff.He's angry about this, but he's tough and a survivor who'll carry on in his usual way.The story called Bodywork featuring Jane and the mechanic is very sexy and unpredictable too, with a clever twist at the end.Freya from the story called The Waitress' Bus Stop is a strange woman.I have the feeling she's up to something but not sure what. I liked all of these stories.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1263841887?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Secret Deceptions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part One

Caroline Jayson's review

Mar 03, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in November, 2014

This volume contains some very interesting stories, all with realistic and believable characters. The sexual scenes are graphic and include voyeurism, BDSM, straight sex and lesbianism. The women in these stories tend to take the lead in exploring their sexuality. The settings are varied, including Berlin and Amsterdam. The stories are much more than sexual encounters;they contain suspense, mental illness and hints of past mysteries. An engrossing read.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1217281755?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Sensual Desires: Amatore's Restaurant - Part Two

John Markham's review

Apr 25, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in February, 2015

I started reading this as soon as I finished Book One and this is just as good. the final story, La Belle Charente, for me,is the stand out story.This is a fascinating portrayal of a monster; a woman so manipulative, cunning and lacking in feelings that she'll take your breath away. in contrast, there is much humour in the other stories; The Video, in particular, made me laugh and I like the clever ending of Business Prospects.

An extremely enjoyable read.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1263740005?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Sensual Desires: Amatore's Restaurant - Part Two

Michael Langley's review 

Apr 25, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in April, 2015

The erotic scenes in this second book are just as mind blowing as the first. You won't be disapointed! There's threesomes, voyeurism, group sex and straight sex. I felt sorry for Colin in The Video, being completely dominated by his scary wife, Samantha. I liked the story Garden Centre where Lucy has a very enjoyable time in the garden. Missing Journals is very, very steamy featuring a scary older woman with a group of young men. Nothing is left to the imagination!La Belle Charente is a dark story because it's about a completely mad woman called Nicole who decides to seduce her husband's nephew. She'll stop at nothing to get what she wants. All very interesting stories.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1263847428?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Sensual Desires: Amatore's Restaurant - Part Two

Caroline Jayson's review 

Mar 11, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in March, 2015

Part Two of the complete book. I really enjoyed these stories; although the characters are linked together through The Recreative Theatre Company each chapter is able to be read as a stand alone story.The characters are well developed and interesting. There are many themes here besides that of seduction; jealousy, love, domination and manipulation to name just a few.

I like the way in which many of the women in these stories are strong, independent characters. They know what they want and are not afraid to try and get it. 

There is much humour here too; such as in The Video, where Colin's viewing pleasure is abruptly cut short, and Business Prospects, where an unexpected phone call interrupts the proceedings.

One of my favourite stories is Missing Journals. The story is set in the early 20th Century and the setting is Brazil. There is an air of menace running throughout, the story is atmospheric and unsettling and will stay with you long after you've finished reading.

This volume contains thought provoking, fascinating stories and I highly recommend it.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1224933142?book_show_action=false&page=1

 

 

 

Clandestine Liaisions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part Three

Michael Langley's review

Apr 25, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in April, 2015

Lots of graphic erotic scenes in this third book, just like the other two.The stories are darker. In Masquerade Colette goes to extreme lengths to get rid of her husband, and in Postscript there's speculation concerning the death of Freya's husband, Michael. Not sure whether she bumped him off or not! The story Past Imperfect is a very interesting one as it involves a transgender person. I think this is great as this seems to be a subject rarely covered and the character in this story is a very likeable person and one who it's easy to sympathise with. The end of this third book sees the different characters leaving the restaurant after their dinner, and there are some unusual pairings. A great read.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1263854216?book_show_action=true&page=1

 

 

 

Clandestine Liaisions: Amatore's Restaurant - Part Three

Caroline Jayson's review 

Apr 19, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in April, 2015

The third volume in the series ends with most of the characters from the three volumes attending the dinner at Amatore's restaurant. Not all of the characters are guests; there is plenty going on between the staff too. 

As the story ends,the reader is not given all of the answers, but I like this as it kept me thinking about the characters and wondering what's going to happen to them next.There are some unusual pairings at the end, ones which I didn't see coming, but as always, they are believable. 

imaginative and descriptive writing and fascinating characters which leave you wanting more.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1258690837?book_show_action=false&page=1